Run ‘n’ scoot

Today was a warm, if overcast, day so I waited for my partner to come home from work so we could go out together, him scooting and me running.  It went pretty well, and I have to say that catching up with him made good motivation!  I finished my 3 miles promptly.

In my life story of dieting post, I mentioned that my grandmother is always chasing the latest diet trend– now, come to find out that my mother has been watching too much Dr Oz and is wasting her money buying raspberry ketone. What a signal that our society is sick!  Some quack on TV makes an appeal to authority and millions of desperate people shell out for snake oil in the vain hope of getting thin.  It’s fine, as long as someone’s making a buck off of it, right?

I asked my mom, has it been approved by the FDA to do what they say it does? She says no, but someone on TV said…

(I have a lot of things to say about Dr Oz.  None of them are nice.  So I won’t say any, now.)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Run ‘n’ scoot

  1. I’ve got a friend who is, or maybe now was, all up in that green coffee bean stuff. I don’t understand people sometimes.

    • G says:

      I don’t get it either. I mean… it’s one thing for people to be ignorant and desperate. But it sickens me that people exploit that desperation and ignorance and make a ton of money (the chemical itself is super cheap to make! 50 pounds of raspberries my ass.)

      I have dreams about the FDA cracking down on companies that make these ridiculous claims. And TV quacks getting taken away in handcuffs.

Leave a Reply

