Suddenly, squats!

Work got in the way of my gym time yesterday (sadface) so today I felt like I ought to do a variety of things to make up for the run I didn’t do yesterday. I went to the gym and decided that I would run a fast mile on the treadmill, lift, then do another fast mile and call it good. (I also have yoga class later this afternoon. We’ll see if I make it!)

My lifts went well! Thanks, everyone, for the EZ bar suggestion for skullcrushers; the bar even has a curve so I don’t whack my head, it was pretty much the best thing.

I accidentally jumped my squats up to 105lb, and I finished 2 sets with some grunting but nothing too heroic. I probably should stick at 105 for a while, though it’s kind of a strange feeling, each rep takes some effort and after a set I’m tired but I feel like I could definitely do more. Also, the noise my knees made when I lowered for the first rep was sort of awful, but after that they were quiet. Knees are weird. I suppose if I’m building up squats I ought to counter with some hamstring/glute work too…

I tried out the lifting straps for my deadlifts, but I don’t think I have the hang of them yet– I need to learn to wrap them up one-handed. I wound up with one wrapped properly and one too loose.

About G

I'm running while fat. And learning other fun ways to honor my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Suddenly, squats!

  1. Gingerzingi says:

    Love the title of your post – Suddenly, squats! :-)
    I’ve got lifting straps for deadlift too, and haven’t quite figured them out. There are lots of youtube demos for straps, but somehow they never feel right, they don’t feel like they’re helping. And I feel kind of panicky being tied to the bar!

    • G says:

      Thank you! I am awful at titling posts so I usually just use the first silly thing that pops in my head (and sometimes it’s really silly).

      I think I’ll keep experimenting with the straps for a month or two and report on how it goes. Maybe they’ll make more sense to me after I’ve used them a while, but now I’m just confused. I hear you on being tied to the bar, though!

Leave a Reply

