Need inspiration…

Another run outdoors in the oppressive heat and humidity today… I tried to head out a little earlier in the hope of avoiding some of the heat but it really didn’t help any. I hit the ibuprofen and water bottle after the run to hopefully keep away a headache.

The run was miserable and torturous while I was doing it but it actually turned out to be quicker than I expected; I covered almost 3 miles in 38 minutes and had negative splits, too. Who knew?

For my birthday, I received a gift certificate for Road ID (yep, I worry sometimes). There’s space on the tag for an inspirational phrase but I can’t think of one that really resonates! Does anyone out there have any good ones they’d like to share?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Need inspiration…

  1. Gingerzingi says:

    The only running motto I know is:
    DLF > DNF > DNS
    (Dead Last Finish is greater than Did Not Finish is greater than Did Not Start)
    Which is great inspiration at my level, but not much of a goal for you!

    I get a headache sometimes running, but I’m not sure if it’s the heat or that I’m clenching my face. I know I’m not grinding my teeth because my mouth is open, but I think I’m sort of straining it anyway.

    • G says:

      I think you overestimate my running skill :) I like that motto!

      I get headaches when I’m dehydrated, so I have to be careful about drinking enough water after workouts. And in the spring and fall I wind up with runny noses and sinus headaches too (thanks allergies!)

  2. I like “just do it” but unfortunately that has been appropriated by a large fashion company. How about “Just fucking do it”. Or a little Yoda wisdom ‘Try not. Do or do not. There is no try’
    My favourite with weights when I am struggling and moaning is “stop thinking about the weight and just pick the fucking thing up” not very useful here however.
    I am now off to wash my mouth out with soap.

    • G says:

      F-bombs are welcome here, no worries. That’s exactly how I feel about squats– just overthinking and being silly about it, when I ought to just do the thing and get over it!

      “Just do the thing and get over it” Heh, that’s not bad.

  3. Caitlin says:

    My Road ID has “pain is temporary, pride is forever.” I know it’s cliche but it works for me, especially when I’m racing.

    Also, when I’m running in the heat, I always tell myself that I’m doing it now in shitty, gross conditions so it’s easier when the temperature/humidity drops. That also seems to work pretty well.

    • G says:

      That’s true; people that train in tough conditions are, well, tougher. I can’t imagine trying to run in a place where it’s like this 3/4 of the year, so I am amazed at you. (Meanwhile I should stop moaning about the weather, it’ll only be gross for another 3 months…)

Leave a Reply

