Underwater Attitude Adjustment

This morning I was a ball of anxiety for no good reason; everything I did felt wrong and horrible and it was miserable.  So I devised a potential solution: a nice long swim.  And sure enough, 50 minutes later I was feeling better.  (And even better yet, now that I’ve eaten lunch.)

Around my 25th lap things started to fall apart– I felt really tired and my form was a mess so I mostly just limped to my goal of 30 laps.  When I’m nearing the end of my rope, I always manage to breathe in water, and that doesn’t help!

I need to do some research on lap lane etiquette.  There’s just one in the pool and I always feel guilty, like I’m hogging it, even though no one’s ever been there waiting for it as far as I can tell.  I know swimmers are supposed to be able to share lanes, but that seems like a pain– the lane’s not that big and I’d be afraid to run into them!

About G

I'm running while fat. And learning other fun ways to honor my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Underwater Attitude Adjustment

  1. I was researching lap swimming at the beginning of the summer, & I thought lane sharing sounds weird too. I guess if you were used to it it wouldn’t be too bad. Plus, I know personally, being a plus size woman, I tend to feel very self-conscious in those situations, like I take up too much space.

    • G says:

      I feel the same way about taking up space. And I’m worried that I might run into someone or kick them! Chances are I won’t ever have to share the lane– I’ve only seen one other person using it, and that’s when I was just there for casual pool-going. I don’t think it gets a lot of use!

Leave a Reply

