I always tag swimming posts with ‘happy’

As Helen put so well, my activity is for ‘fun and health’ and it sure was fun today!  30 minutes in the pool swimming laps loosened up my stiff joints perfectly.  I feel like a million bucks now!  Whenever I swim, I come out of the pool with a big smile on my face.  I love it.

Another of my favorite things is stretching in the pool after I’m finished swimming.  I always manage to stretch my quads so well.  And I can do a standing hip/IT band stretch that I can never pull off in air– I need two arms to pull on my leg, so I just fall over, but the water helps me balance.

I’m debating if I want to seek out any kind of form guidance for swimming.  On the one hand, I’m not doing this in any competitive way– it’s just fun, I don’t even know how long the lane is.  On the other, who knows, I might get a bug to do a tri or something and it might be good to have that groundwork laid.  Folks on the Fit Fatties swimming forum mentioned some YouTube videos on form; that’s probably a good place to start– at least I can try to imitate people who know what they’re doing.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I always tag swimming posts with ‘happy’

  1. Caitlin says:

    YouTube videos are a good idea – I watch them pretty regularly and try to emulate what I see when I swim. I also have a book that contains drills, which I try to do every time I swim. The Total Immersion stuff has been recommended to me but I haven’t tried it yet so I can’t say what I think with personal certainty, just that it has been recommended by people who know what they are talking about.

    Anyway I think it’s a good idea to learn decent technique, if only so that you form good habits early on instead of developing bad habits that later have to be broken, should you decide you want to pursue it any further. Plus, there’s something really cool about gliding through the water instead of paddling furiously. It just feels more elegant and natural to me.

    • G says:

      I will check out the videos!

      I’ve always wanted to recruit someone to grab a short video of my swimming so I can have an aid for my proprioception, or at least get a sense of anything weird I might be doing that I can’t tell on my own. But that seems kind of weird.

      • Caitlin says:

        I think that’s what a lot of serious swimmers do, though, so don’t feel weird about it. It’s actually a good idea, and something I should look at doing. Like, I worry that I never get my elbow high enough out of the water, but how can you tell without being able to see yourself?

  2. Pingback: 2013 Recap Post | Running While Fat

Leave a Reply

