Unmotivated run done good

Unmotivated run strikes again! Today I wasn’t really sure what I was going to do for a workout. I was still sore and my abdomen was hurty from either guts issues or lady issues, and the elliptical was very tempting, but the weather was beautiful so I dragged myself outside to run, telling myself "okay if it’s awful you can turn around".

The first 5 or 10 minutes was actually awful (I remember wondering if this was what mile 20 of a marathon must feel like, as my calves and quads burned and my guts rattled around) but my body settled down and I wound up running 3 miles in 40 minutes. It was nice to have a longer run, and it felt pretty good.

So NRoL4W recommends a hiatus in between stages for recovery; I might take a couple weeks and shift focus back to running for a while. Ideally, how I exercise follows the weather– in the winter when it’s cold and in the summer when it’s hot I want to be inside, so that’s lifting season, and the milder transitional periods are great for running. Right now is one of those lovely mild times, and I’d rather be outside…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

