How one’s diet could affect recovery

There’s just starting to be a nip in the air in the mornings– we could have our first frost in the next few days– so this is prime fall running time. I shivered in my pullover at first, but I warmed up quickly enough and ran 2.37 miles in 30 minutes. I was thinking about bailing on the run because I am very sore from the waist to the knees, but it turned out to be fine once I got going.

A quick word about my new shoes (hooray): they’re Brooks Ghost 6s, and I like them better than the 5s– they seem to have good arch support (something the 5s didn’t have much of). Running in new shoes is so nice!

I have a dear, old friend who I often chat with online. We agree about a lot of things but we disagree on one in particular: dieting. As you know, I am not a fan of dieting; however, my friend is devoted to hers and convinced that weight loss is the #1 route to health and happiness (she works in the health field as well, so she’s fully bought in). I was excited when she recently told me that she’d joined a gym and started lifting weights– partly because I think it’s really fun, and partly because she’s had some persistent joint issues that could be improved with better muscular support. Talk turned to soreness and recovery– lots of rest! lots of protein!– and she admitted she didn’t plan on changing how she eats at all (low calorie, low protein), plus she says she’s always hungry. I bit my tongue with some effort, as she might be keeping her body from rebuilding itself– at best, she may not see the results she’s hoping for, and at worst she could get injured. However, I am applying the underpants rule and trying not to offer unsolicited advice…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How one’s diet could affect recovery

  1. Caitlin says:

    She’s going to find lifting weights to be a frustrating experience unless she learns to be okay eating more food.

    I love the underpants rule but I also wonder if there’s room in it for a constructive-criticism corollary. Not in terms of making judgments, but more like “you might get better results if…”

    • G says:

      Honestly, I’m holding off because we’ve had arguments about it before and it got nasty. It feels like when I would say “If you don’t eat more, you won’t recover well” she would hear me say “You need to be fat like me”.

      I think I’m just going to see what happens. :-/

Leave a Reply

