B is for “Brutal”

Today I dragged my sore butt into the gym to tackle workout B3. I have been permanently sore for the past few weeks despite judicious application of foam rollers, ice and ibuprofen, and I think it might be time to give myself 2 or 3 days of NOTHING so I can rest and heal. On top of that, something strange has happened– my left thigh has gone numb. Apparently this is a textbook nerve syndrome called meralgia paresthetica, when a nerve along the hip gets pinched. Fun! At least it doesn’t hurt (it’s just weird) but I’ll take it as a cue to pay a leetle bit more attention to recovery, and hopefully it resolves itself.

B3 is still long and awful and today I didn’t even manage to get to the end of it– I was hoping to do the intervals today and I started running but after 4 minutes my legs weren’t following directions and I wanted to fall down and cry, so I decided to stop. I like to think that I’m pretty good at gutting out hard workouts, but today was just so much. I mean, deadlifts and squats and lunges and everything else and then you want me to run intervals on top of that? I tried, but my legs just said "can we not?"

While I’m complaining, let me just say that my mental health is suffering now too. This is always a rough time of year for me, and the time change has thrown my sleep schedule off the tracks too. Yes, I think a few quiet, restful days are definitely in order…

About G

I'm running while fat. And learning other fun ways to honor my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to B is for “Brutal”

  1. Gingerzingi says:

    Sometimes discretion is the better part of valor, and rest is the better part of a workout… hope you recovery soon.

  2. Caitlin says:

    Oof, yes it definitely sounds like time for a rest. Let your body heal up a bit. Also, I hope you start feeling better soon. *hugs*

  3. Pingback: Post-NRoL4W thoughts | Running While Fat

Leave a Reply

