Logistics of cold-weather running

There are several impediments to cold-weather running, even aside from the temperature. This time of year, I leave for work when it’s dark and get home when it’s dark (it’s great, let me tell you) so it’s best if I can fit it in during the day. That means I have to schlep all my cold-weather gear to work. I dislike carrying a large gym bag on the crowded train, so I try to cram all my stuff into a tote-sized bag. Depending on the day of the week, this might include my lunch, running shoes, gym clothes, a towel, and/or any papers I needed to take home.

Today, though, I didn’t bring lunch and my shoes were already in my gym locker, so I had all the bag real estate to devote to gear: tights, shorts, an undershirt, a long-sleeved shirt, a jacket, and a nice pair of wool socks, along with a headband and gloves.

And I went out and realized that the difference between freezing in the wind and peeling off layers was about 5 minutes of running. I was comfortable for the rest without my jacket, though the gloves kept going on and off. (They itch when they get sweaty, too. Boo.)

It wasn’t really a very good run. My calves were tight and hurty, and I covered 2.25 miles in the 30 minutes I allotted. Oh well, despite the cold it’s a clear and beautiful day, so it was good to get outside and get some sunshine.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

