Giving thanks for no food guilt!

As usual, my workout wiped the floor with me today. Workout A2 was long and difficult, but I managed to bump a few weights (notably barbell bentover row, to 85lb) and I did the complete bodyweight matrix in less time than last week. Yes, complete– with lunge jumps! (Although I’m pretty sure I was doing them wrong, probably not lunge-y enough.) My legs are awfully wobbly.

I chatted with the ladies in the locker room (like you do) and asked how they enjoyed their Thanksgiving holiday. The responses I got weren’t really as positive as I expected.

Me: How was your Thanksgiving?

Locker Room Lady: Oh, it was good, too much eating though.

Me: That’s usually how it goes… it’s just one day a year though, right?

LRL: Yeah, but still. I guess it’s okay because I’m active. But if I wasn’t active I’d feel really guilty about everything I ate…

One of my lessons along my journey was that I had to let go of food guilt. That’s been especially useful around the holidays– in two ways. First, I have permission to enjoy the delicious celebratory food prepared for me by people who care about me. (How fantastic to think of it that way!) And on the other side of the coin, not restricting means that I can really listen to my hunger and instead of bingeing (anticipating guilt and restriction later), I can eat mindfully, taking more of things I really like and less of things I don’t, stopping when I’m full and maybe asking for some leftovers of things I really like to take home. :) I enjoy all the tasty holiday food so much more when I’m not stressing about it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Giving thanks for no food guilt!

  1. Gingerzingi says:

    I am totally with you about letting go of the food guilt. It was not an easy path for me to get to a point of calmness and rational behavior about food (and problems can still surface when under stress) but I’m glad to have given up all that worry and torment. I never discuss food with other people, especially in the break room at work, because I’m so appalled by the things people say. It’s all guilt, all justifications for why they’re allowed to eat, morality equated with nutrition, and I just can’t join in that sort of talk. I don’t want to be That Person, but a couple times I have said, “You know, you are allowed to eat.” And in my head I’ve frequently shrieked, “Shut up! Eat it or don’t eat it, but just SHUT UP.”

    • G says:

      It’s maddening to sit around people doing food talk, isn’t it? Nothing will ruin my lunch faster than that! Keep fighting the good fight.

Leave a Reply

