Looooong runs

This morning was a little slow, so I took a chunk of time and decided to bang out a 4 miler– it took me 53 minutes. It wasn’t so bad, but I’m definitely not used to running that far– most of my runs lately have been in the 2.5-3 mile range. It’s raining today, and the treadmill was awfully boring for so long!

My left foot was doing an unusual thing: it was both numb and hot spot-y. Usually it’s either/or; if the shoe is too tight the foot goes numb, and if it’s too loose it rubs and causes hot spots. Not sure how I managed to get both! I tried adjusting my laces to make it go away but no luck– I ran the last 2 miles with a numb foot (luckily the numbness kept the hot spot from being bad). I’m mixed on these shoes lately, but I’ll stick it out with them (running shoes are too expensive to switch on a whim).

It’s supposed to snow over the weekend, and I hope I’m able to go for a run in it! Running while it’s snowing is a magical, wonderful thing.

About G

I'm running while fat. And learning other fun ways to honor my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Looooong runs

  1. playfulpups says:

    I love running in the snow!!

  2. Gingerzingi says:

    I’m always too lazy to lace my shoes properly, so I sometimes get that combination of numb/hot spot. It helps if I adjust the laces starting all the way at the toe and work my way back.
    I’ve never ran in snow; I’ve only run when it’s terribly hot!

Leave a Reply

