2013 Recap Post

It’s the time of year when we reflect on how 2013 went. WordPress sent me a neat little breakdown of my most popular posts, and I was pleased to see some that I’m really proud of on the list. I wrote these from the heart, so I was happy to see that they were well-received.

Cognitive dissonance  “Finally getting some of that sparkly thing I chased most of my life, after and because I decided I didn’t want it anymore? Bizarro-world-level cognitive dissonance there.”

Diets: A life story  “I’ve been fat almost my whole life, and was on some diet most of my life, but I never had any lasting success– I never achieved that thin dream, no matter how I tried.”

Pretty  “I want to be other things than pretty. I want to be smart, and kind, and wise, and strong. When I read articles about brilliant, amazing women that proclaim their achievements, I don’t want to see at the end, “Plus, she’s hot!” They can leave that part out– I want to hear more about what they discovered, who they protected, how they changed the world.”

Fat, Health, and the Illusion of Control “There’s a temptation to use my healthy status as ammunition against fat-hating people who tell me that since I’m fat, I cannot possibly be healthy.”

What else happened this year? Well, I ran a whole lot! After healing up from a stress fracture in 2012, I followed the Hal Higdon intermediate 5k program and increased my mileage a ton, and shaved 3 minutes off my 5k time in my annual keeping-myself-honest race. After the race I wanted to work on pacing and endurance. I also started using the Zombies, Run! app on my phone, which is great.

It’s also the year I started getting more serious about weight lifting, becoming comfortable with the barbells and plates and really seeing how much I could lift (and realizing that I need a spotter for some lifts!) Around August I started the New Rules of Lifting for Women program (NRoL4W herein).  Stage 1 sort of pulled me in, and Stage 2 and Stage 3 continued the butt-kicking. (Starting Stage 4 next week!)

I did a lot of other fun activities, too.  I spent the summer swimming laps in my complex’s pool and loved it.  I tried out hiking, and discovered that I needed some boots.  I went kayaking (sort of). My partner and I tried cold-weather camping, and yes it was very cold.

It wasn’t all super.  My mental illness made an appearance at several points through the year, and efforts to manage it with activity failed spectacularly.  I dealt with some surprising nastiness and WTFery.  A bad yoga class left me unable to walk for a few days. And one run ended at major police and media presence (“oh HECK no”).

But overall, 2013 was a blast.  THANK YOU to everyone who read and commented last year.  You guys make all the yammering I do worthwhile. All the best for 2014!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2013 Recap Post

  1. Gingerzingi says:

    I love the recap! I didn’t realize WP could do that. I must look at my own dashboard…
    I remember a lot of these highlights, it was fun to re-read them. A good year…

Leave a Reply

