Intimidatingly strong?

Workout B2 today. I managed to bump a couple things (box deadlifts to 125lb, Bulgarian split squats to 35lb, lat pulldowns to 45lb) and, while that felt awesome, I had very little energy left by the end of the workout and struggled through the intervals. Where "struggled" means "walked half the recovery intervals because I was totally pooped".

I was up on the box with the loaded barbell in my hands when this older man walked through the weight room, looked at me, and exclaimed, "Well, I’m not going to mess with you!" Damn right! I laughed, though. I don’t think I’m nearly as intimidating when I haven’t got 125lb dangling from my arms.

Tangentially, have I ever mentioned how I’d love to study a martial art or learn to box or brawl? Unfortunately, my eye doctor has expressly forbidden me from doing any activity where I’m likely to be hit in the face (I’m very nearsighted and at high risk for retinal detachment). Being strong is useful for, like, carrying things around but it would also be useful to know how to use it to protect myself.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Intimidatingly strong?

  1. maitriscraps says:

    Wow are you me? You’ve got PF in the left foot, I just finished suffering a bout of that. You’re nearsighted and at high risk for retinal detachment, so am I. Wow. LOL. Glad I found your blog!

Leave a Reply

