Hill of beans

It’s legs day! Today I decided to really zero in on squats and see what I could do. I started with a set of 10 at 95lb, then another set of 10 at 115lb, and then I did 2 sets of 5 at 125lb. It wasn’t so bad, but I still struggle with proper form and keeping my back lifted. I probably shouldn’t add more weight before I get that sorted out.

After all the squats, I rounded out the workout with split squats and step-ups and reverse lunges off a box and calf presses, plus some crunches and jackknifes and clamshells. And then 15 minutes on the exercise bike, and some stretches. And then a shower and coming back to the office to wait impatiently for lunchtime.

Speaking of lunch, today I brought leftovers from dinner yesterday: chicken thighs and kidney beans in BBQ sauce (this is a surprisingly good combo), pasta, and succotash (a mix of lima beans and corn, for the non-Americans– thank goodness for frozen veggies). Legume-errific! I love me some beans, but my partner tends to complain about the, er, effect they have on him. And I’m still thinking about the best way to address my protein needs without necessarily increasing my meat intake. While I’m lifting I’m trying to get to about 150g per day, which is tough.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hill of beans

  1. Caitlin says:

    I decided that I’m going to get some sessions with a personal trainer later in the year to help with my squat. I can’t seem to squat without hurting my left knee, and I know that can’t be right, so I’m just holding off on all things squat until I can figure that out.

    • G says:

      That’s a good idea… sometimes professional help is the way to go! Even a couple sessions would help correct egregious form issues (I’m sure I have some of those).

      Hope you can get it all sorted out after your race!

Leave a Reply

