Surprise 10k

I was feeling pretty un-sore (which is kind of amazing) so I decided I’d go out for a run. It’s cooler, and we’re getting lots of wind from the tightly-wound isobars on the eastern side of Albert (although that wind was a bit of a challenge to run against).

The plan was a routine 35 minutes, but I started running and said “eeenh, I’ll do 4 miles.” And then once I got to the 2 mile turnaround point I said “eeeenh, I’ll just keep going.” And I was on my long run route– yes, the 6-7 mile one– and pretty soon I was 3 miles from home so I might as well keep going because it was just as far to go back.  Anyway, I wrapped up 6.2 miles in 1:25, and it kind of sucked.

I hadn’t run so far since April, and I certainly wasn’t prepared for the run. Luckily I had water, but I hadn’t eaten much and by the time I got home I was totally out of gas and very cranky.  I drank some water and laid in bed for an hour, then talked myself into getting up and eating lunch, which improved my mood immensely.

Happy July 4 to my US readers! Soon we’re headed over for a BBQ and a bit of fireworks-watching. And I just remembered I have a dessert to make… better get on that!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Surprise 10k

  1. Gingerzingi says:

    LOL! I love the way the 10k just sort of happened to you. I feel like you’re kind of avoid responsibility here! :-D

    • G says:

      Eheh, yeah, I might have a tendency to go overboard with these kinds of things. 3 miles is good? 6 miles is GREAT, right? Nevermind that I haven’t planned or prepared :-/

Leave a Reply

