Dancing in the rain

Okay, not in the rain. But the weather today kept my workout indoors. (It wasn’t rainy all day though– I missed my sunny window in the morning, but I was busy with work.)

It was a good day to play some dancey game, then. It was fun, but I’ve gotten to a point where I need to stop and break the songs down so I can get to the end of the game– and they’ve gotten really hard! So I just played the familiar ones for a while (and somehow managed new high scores, how do I even remember these?) I spent about half an hour actually dancing and another half an hour navigating the menus. (I hear Dance Central 2 has a better workout mode where you don’t stop every 2 minutes.)

(tw: weight loss talk ahead)

I’m still debating if I want to start Stage 7 of NRoL4W or if I should take another week for recovery (haha, like I’m resting). I think the reason I’m giving this stage side-eye is that it’s called “The Final Cut” (as in weight loss) and apparently the purpose is to finally get rid of that pesky remaining body fat. So it’s a zillion reps of everything– 15-20 reps? I remember when I started this plan and it was like “lift heavy!” and you guys, you can’t lift heavy at 4 sets of 20 reps. 20 reps is pink weights territory (no offense to people who use light weights/high reps, but that’s not how I’ve been lifting). Plus my pesky fat is unlikely to dissolve as a result, anyway. So I’m staring at a workout that’s going to 1) take FOR-EV-ER; 2) not result in strength gain; and 3) fail at its stated goal of making me visibly ripped.

So that’s why I’m feeling so much trepidation about finishing up this plan. But I’m happier when things are finished, so I feel like I ought to just gut it out. What do you all think?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dancing in the rain

  1. lozette says:

    Maybe think of it as a conditioning workout instead of “fat burning”? I do conditioning for my vascular health and I’m sure it’s *intended* to be fat burning but I think of it as just getting a good sweaty, puffed-out workout in. Disclaimer: I have not read NRoLW!

    • G says:

      I suppose I could think of it that way. But for conditioning I’d rather take a kettlebell class or run intervals or something.

      But that’s a good point, and maybe I can layer it in with some low-effort running or yoga or swimming on the off days.

Leave a Reply

