Gently working hard

I’m thankful that Workout 2 of this stage was less butt-kicking than Workout 1. In fact, I wrapped up the workout feeling good, like I had completed a moderate challenge but not depleted. Which is probably a lot better place to be, mentally and physically.

I took it easy for most of the workout; the first lift was incline bench press and I started at just 75lb, did my 8 reps, then bumped it up to 95lb and did the second set. I did the heels-elevated squats with just the bar (and that was hard enough, for 4 sets of 15 reps) and kept it light for the rows, pulldowns, shoulder presses and step-ups too. Hopefully this will ensure that I have the use of all of my limbs over the weekend (because I am busy and will need them!)

I don’t know if I’m getting old, or I’m pushing too hard in my workouts, or I’m not eating properly or getting enough sleep, but I’m not recovering well and I’m pretty sick of being sore all the time. For me, lifting is a fun hobby and a way to get strong (as Diary of a Newbie Strongwoman put it "fun and fitness") and spending my days in pain because of routine workouts is not part of the equation. I mean, some DOMS is expected, but not being able to stand or sit without wincing for 3 days is right the heck out. I think the key is to find a more moderate practice…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

