Hello, fall

Sometime between last week and this week, fall happened. Well, the trees haven’t started turning colors or anything, but the air has that crisp quality and the sky the intense blue of cool, low-humidity fall days. Thank goodness– I’m ready for the end of the summer swelter, though I’m sure it’ll be back to visit again before October.

You would think that taking 2 days entirely off would be helpful for my running performance, but today was another slog, with tight hamstrings, quads and calves. I wrapped up 5k in 40 minutes on my half-uphill-half-downhill route and it wasn’t very fun.

I have 2 weeks left in my lifting program, and then I’m going to have to figure out something new. Maybe I should register for a Thanksgiving 5 or 10k? That would give me the kick in the butt to train running properly again, and it’s the right 2-month timescale. Mostly I just don’t want to be farting around without a plan. And fall is a nice time to be running lots anyway…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hello, fall

  1. WalkToRio says:

    It’s so nice that summer is over. The only thing I’ll miss will be the long days and beach weekends.
    But humidity and weeks over 100’s won’t be missed.

    • G says:

      I bet there’s still a few weeks left for nice beach time, depending on where you live! Fewer crowds, at least…

      • WalkToRio says:

        I went to this past weekend, was packed. People are holding tight to the last summer days. Winter in here (Seville) is mild, you won’t hear me complaining.

Leave a Reply

