I can lift more…

I had a bit of an epiphany over the weekend, as I dressed in my costume for renfaire– I really like the fact that I’m muscular and strong-looking. I’ve been waffling over taking up a more aggressive running program, or doing more yoga, or finding a new lifting regimen. I have a hard time lifting the way I want and running the way I want at the same time, so I really have to choose, or half-ass both.

As I admired my shoulders on Sunday, I sort of on-the-spot decided that I wanted to keep lifting. Okay! So then what? I’ve given away my copy of NRoL4W to a friend (I hope it works out for her!) I don’t really want to go through it again. Stronglifts seems to be another popular one, so I checked out their website and the simplicity of it grabbed me immediately (despite the obnoxiously gendered language/bro-ness of it all). I know and love those simple lifts already. I’ll commit a few months and see how it works, I guess.

The website said to start at 40-50% of my 5-rep max; this assumes that I’ve done a 5-rep max, which I haven’t. So I started with weights I found easy; 95lb for squats, 85 for bench press, and 75 for rows. Not surprisingly, they were too easy. 5 reps is a short set! I’ll have to add more a little more weight next time.

One of the selling points for Stronglifts for me was the fact that they say you’re not supposed to be sore. We shall see…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to I can lift more…

  1. Gingerzingi says:

    Well, Ron White always says “Don’t half-ass two things. Whole ass one thing.”

    Congratulations on your muscles.

  2. ebay313 says:

    Yeah, I’m definitely sore from stronglifts! lol. I’m also impressed with your light bench weight! 85lbs is what I’m doing for strong lifts right now but I can’t get the 5×5 with that yet. I think I started with bar only (45lb) for bench. My bench and OHP are super weak.

    • G says:

      “No soreness” is absolutely a lie! NRoL4W didn’t include much bench, but it did include plenty of push-ups, and since lifting myself is lifting heavy (lol) I think that helped quite a bit. My OHP isn’t great either– not much more than the bar, but hey that’s why we train right?

  3. Pingback: 2014 Recap | Running While Fat

Leave a Reply

