Making lazy work; and, I am not the Hulk

Squat, bench, row day: 115, 95, 85. Squat was supposed to be only 110, but I was lazy and just threw 2 35lb plates on the bar– otherwise it’s 25s, 5s and 2.5s (fiddly!) They were tough but doable. The rows, on the other hand, were barely doable, and I don’t feel like I can hold my form properly at this weight. There’s some piece of muscular strength that I’m lacking, so I’m going to break the Stronglifts rules and drop it back 5 or 10lb and really perfect it before I add more weight. (Yeah, how do you handle that in SL? What happens once you get out of the beginner gains phase and get stuck?)

That took me a half-hour, so I decided I had time to hop on the treadmill for a quick run– I pushed it hard and kept it to just a mile. But I was running in my minimal shoes and my feet definitely feel tired and over-stretched now. (Once again, I was being lazy and didn’t change my shoes. You know you spend too much time in the gym when you need more than one pair of shoes to complete your workout.) Hopefully they feel okay tomorrow; I’d like to run again.

I was talking to someone I see occasionally at the gym, and they mentioned my workouts and asked if I could "beat everyone up now". I wish I could say this was the first time I’ve gotten this kind of comment from people. At my best, I’m a gentle person; I’ve worked hard in my life to channel my innate aggression and anger into more productive behaviors. I wonder why the fact that I’m strong makes people assume that I would use it for violence? Is it the masculinity of strength that leads people to project aggression onto me? To be honest, this really bugs me, because it is something I’ve had to work on.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Making lazy work; and, I am not the Hulk

  1. lozette says:

    I have flat plimsolls, Adidas powerlift shoes and a pair of ballet flats all at the gym, so I can relate!!

    I also get comments about being able to beat people up, and they make me uncomfortable. Especially when people say thins like “I bet if someone tried to rob/attack you, you’d just beat them up”. Um, no? Because I’m not trained to do that; and besides, most men are still going to be stronger than me. it’s not as if I wouldn’t *try*, but if someone tried to blame me for being hurt in an attack because I didn’t fight back…? Yikes.

    • G says:

      Yes, that’s a scary thought, isn’t it? Just because we’re stronger than the average woman, it falls on us to defend ourselves. And to be honest, I’m not sure I’d have it in me to fight back that way, with intent to harm my attacker. (Not that I have any skill in that area either!)

  2. Gingerzingi says:

    Well yeah, I think the characteristic of strength is heavily gendered to men, and you’re probably right about the aggression too. I don’t know why people make that remark, though.

    I’m not particularly aggressive, although I suppose I have my fair share of anger (I attribute that simply to living as a female in this world…). But I still enjoy the fantasy of kicking someone’s ass. Part of being strong is, to me, the sense of physical competence, which extends to defending oneself.

    On the other hand, just taking up space is probably seen as aggressive behavior in a woman…

    • G says:

      I take a crowded commuter train to work, and man oh man you should see men get annoyed when I encroach on the empty seat that “belongs” to them! Worse still are the guys who spread their legs or elbows into the personal spaces of their fellow riders. I swear they don’t even think that they’re being jerks, it’s just what they’re entitled to…

  3. Pingback: 2014 Recap | Running While Fat

Leave a Reply

