Runs and random thoughts

Took my sore legs to the gym today for a recovery run. I’m not sure what caused it, but my hamstrings and groins are pretty ouchy. (Probably a combination of things…) But I cruised through 3.2 miles in just under 40 minutes on the treadmill (with a couple walking breaks) so it couldn’t have been too bad. The TVs in the cardio room had election results on the morning news, which was pretty depressing.

I have a bunch of stuff that’s been kicking around in my head; none of it is enough for a whole post but I thought I’d get some of it out for any commentary…

1. So I’ve sometimes been lifting in these old running shoes I haven’t been able to run in because they’re stability not neutral (this caused my knees much grief a couple years ago). I don’t think they work well for squats; I have more knee issues after squatting in the stability shoes. I should just toss those old shoes and get a pair of cheap knockoff Chucks or something else flat. Or maybe it’s all in my head?

2. One of my close friends has started doing light weight lifting the gym at her new job, which is on a military base (she is a civilian). This gym is full of very strong military people (including women), and she’s intimidated as she learns how to do the exercises. I want to be encouraging, but I don’t really know how, aside from saying "we all start somewhere!" Complicating matters is that she wants to get skinny not strong– she’s so worried about "bulking up" and I just recoil from that. She’s already pretty thin? And she’s tall and long-boned and she probably won’t put on much muscle. Honestly, I bet she would really benefit from a few sessions with a good personal trainer.

3. Also maybe all-in-my-head: I’ve been taking magnesium supplements for years now (in my experience, it helps a lot with chronic migraines; I hardly have headaches anymore). I ran out a week ago. And it happens that I’ve felt pretty achy and terrible in that week (no headaches yet, though) and I can’t tell if I feel cruddy from missing the magnesium or if I just feel cruddy. (Or it could be not enough sleep, or lingering immune response from my flu shot last week…) Good ol’ confirmation bias. One of the fun parts of being a scientist: knowing how to analyze your own logical fallacies.

About G

I'm running while fat. And learning other fun ways to honor my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

