Happy run (with bonus math)

I’m not too sore today– it’s mostly my pecs and abs (I did some accessory crunches and jackknifes yesterday). So I laced up my running shoes and hopped on the treadmill not really expecting anything– and had a surprisingly great run, 3.2 solid miles in 37 minutes. It felt really good, and I kept turning the speed up.

The Colbert Report was on TV, and for a guest he had rockstar mathematician Terence Tao. Tao’s discussion was really interesting, but Colbert kept interrupting him and making stupid jokes and kind of ruined it. Tao took it in stride, though– I’m sure he knew what he was signing up for when he agreed to be on the show. (I want to hear more about prime number theory! And I might have gotten overly excited when Tao said he was working on the fluid equations. /nerd I’ve never been naturally good at math, but I’ve spent enough time with it that we’ve sort of come to an uneasy truce. And the pure math stuff is so arcane but they keep finding neat applications for it, it’s fascinating.)

I must’ve gotten overheated during my run; my face is still flushed and dry in that way that tells me I’m probably going to have a headache later. Hopefully preemptive ibuprofen helps.

I’m also happy because I managed to get the very last drops of a favorite perfume out of the rollerball I keep in my gym bag. (24, Faubourg by Hermes. It’s lovely.) I always feel better with a nice smell on.

About G

I'm running while fat. And learning other fun ways to honor my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

