BIGGEST SQUATS

Well, today was squats/overhead press/deadlifts at 140/65/165. I’ve never tried squatting 140lb before, so I was a little concerned– but it was okay, the hardest part was keeping my back up and making my quads do the work and not my hip flexors. By the end of the 5th set I was pretty tired and grunty. (I promise I won’t title all my posts BIGGEST SQUATS from now on; this was just a new PB for me, though I’m going to add 5lb more next week again.) I’ve been doing the DLs like singles with a couple seconds of rest, but I’m not sure if I need to do that, or if I can just do a regular set of 5, making sure to settle the bar all the way down at the bottom..

I’m researching doing a close-to-home day hike on Sunday. My partner is working that day, so maybe I can talk him in to picking me up when I’m done– but I need to check where there’s a trail crossing close to his work. Mostly I don’t want to do an out-and-back, because I find the "back" part so much less fun. It’s a mile to the trail head, then about 10 miles on the trail to a place it might be convenient for him to pick me up. Or I could go all-out and hike the entire thing, just under 20 miles. But that might be a bit much. I dunno; I can run 7.5 miles and I’ve hiked 10 before, so I would think that a lightly-loaded, non-technical trail hike of 20 miles would be doable, but it really would take me all day. Maybe I’ll just stick to 10, and see how it goes.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to BIGGEST SQUATS

  1. lozette says:

    Good work on the squats!!!

Leave a Reply

