Long days

Work is causing me a significant amount of stress lately; I have a thing due "by the end of the year" but, because of the nature of the end of the year, that’s actually like, by the end of next week. Complicating manners, the computations that support the thing take– I’m not even joking here– a week to run. So I’m scrambling to get everything together on time, and spending more time than I’d like working (both in the office and at home).

But! I’m still dragging my tired butt to the gym, because that’s one of the bright spots of my day. Today was squat/bench/row, 165/115/85. I felt pretty cruddy walking into the gym today, and I wasn’t sure how far I was going to get. But I finished everything, though it took me nearly an hour. (My rest breaks tend to get longer and longer…) I was happy to bump bench up, at least. It means I get to be lazy and just throw 2 35lb plates on there instead of all the smaller ones.

Yesterday I worked at home; I started at 7am and was working until 8:30pm (I took a break to eat dinner while watching the new episode of Sailor Moon Crystal, though). At various points through the day I thought, "I should go for a run" but work+32F outside meant I kept putting it off. Finally, at the end of my day, I said to myself, "I need to do something. I’ll do yoga so I can sleep." (Sleeping well has not been a guaranteed thing for me lately– I love bedtime panic attacks.) So I did some nice yogas, stretched out and breathed and tried to let go of the stress of the day, then took a hot shower. Thankfully, when I went to bed I fell asleep quickly and slept soundly.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Long days

  1. Gingerzingi says:

    Super impressive stats on your lifts!

    I’ve got that end-of-year situation too, and I think my boss has forgotten that I’ll actually be out from the 18th on, because of the surgery. I’m just keeping my head down and not reminding him :)

Leave a Reply

