Leaving it all on the mat

Well, I was probably past due for a breakdown, so it’s not surprising that I found myself in tears during shavasana in yoga class today. The class was tough– not because the poses were challenging, but because my body feels beat up and I am so, so tired. Every day this week has just been non-stop both at work and at home; yesterday after I got home from work I hit the ground running and was doing stuff until bedtime– then this morning I got up at 5 and started again. I still have a lot of crap to accomplish, at home and at work, and I don’t know what’s going to get dropped.

I’m trying to draw some consolation from the fact that I have all of next week off, but I keep getting focused on the 10 hour driving trip and how stressful spending time with my wacky family is going to be and how many last-minute odds and ends I need to wrap up before then. (So tempted to just say "fuck it, everyone is getting gift cards!!" and be done.)

Crying in yoga class is just one of those things. I’m sure instructors see it all the time; our bodies store up emotions and sometimes yoga lets them go. So when it happens, I try to just let it, you know? Besides, it’s better to cry in the gym than in my cubicle…

About G

I'm running while fat. And learning other fun ways to honor my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Leaving it all on the mat

  1. Gingerzingi says:

    Dude, go with the gift cards! Everyone will love them.

    Probably good you cried in yoga. As you say it’s better than crying at work, and obviously you needed to let out some emotion. Take a deep breath… :)

    • G says:

      I always feel like gift cards are like the bare minimum effort! But I like getting them myself, so I don’t know why I’m so resistant to giving them to other people :)

  2. ouizeeb says:

    I agree, gift cards for sure. I am looking forward to time off from work, but worry I won’t get everything done this week that I need to as well. If gift cards are going to save your sanity and people will be happy with that, then go for it!

    • G says:

      You know, I had to just follow this up and say that I did get everyone gift cards– and they LOVED them, they’re getting used for date nights and school books and meals while traveling and art supplies. It really worked out :)

Leave a Reply

