Christmas run and Christmas food

Merry Christmas to my readers who celebrate it! I’m visiting my parents this week and it’s been a very busy time and I haven’t had much time for exercise, but finally today I got a chance to cram a run in before my relatives arrived for Christmas dinner. The weather is poopy and I didn’t bring any cold-weather gear anyway, so I hit the treadmill for 40 minutes and covered 3.25 miles. It felt good to work up a sweat! Hopefully I get one or two more in over this week.

There’s a ton of food around my parents’ house; everyone’s been bringing cookies and desserts and I’ve been eating a lot of rich food– plus my mom’s one of those moms who makes sure that no one is ever hungry, so we’re eating very well at meals. It’s not easy for me to eat intuitively and mindfully right now. But it’s also important for me to mind my mental health, and give myself permission to not feel bad about holiday eating. too. I don’t eat like this all the time, right, and it’s okay to enjoy the special food while it’s around! My family is full of great cooks who take pride and pleasure in sharing their delicious food with me. I’m happy that this is part of our tradition.

My mom loves to treat people with special foods– my partner had never had a lemon meringue pie made from scratch, so she took a few hours and baked one. It was delicious, he’ll never look at store-bought lemon pies the same way again, and she was so proud! Do you guys have any special holiday food traditions?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

