More milestones, and the arrival of an unsolicited diet book

Today is another make-up day, I’m back in the office (finally) and so I hit the weight room this morning for a session of squats, overhead press, and deadlifts. I don’t know what got into me today, but it went really, really well! I increased the weight on everything– so squats went up to 175lb, OHP to 80lb, and deadlift to 200lb (eeee!) I’m really excited to have hit 200lb squats, too– that was a big milestone for me, and now I’m very close to my bodyweight DL goal. I just need to keep working my grip so my hands can keep up!

A few days ago, I got a phone call from my aunt. She told me that she was sending me a copy of a book she really likes and that she hoped it would be a blessing to me. The book is called Trim Healthy Mama. Yes, she’s sending me unsolicited diet books. (Christian diet books, even; apparently it has a cult following among homeschooling, fundamentalist women.) I don’t want it; this book is antithetical to everything I practice, and following it would not support my fitness goals. I’m debating if I should send her a letter back explaining why I don’t want it and maybe return the book, or if I should just dump it on the free books shelf at work and say nothing.

(I’m also debating if I want to go into detail about how ridiculous this book is, based upon my reading of reviews. Oh, why not…) So it’s based on some psudoscience about not combining carbs and fat in the same meal, but it’s basically low-carb recipes made with additives and bulking agents (stevia and glucomannan powder feature prominently). And apparently there’s an entire chapter about how wives can spice up their ‘intimate relationships’, which includes the foul idea of submitting sexually to their husbands whenever he wants, no exceptions.

I mean, I can just roll my eyes at the diet stuff, but that last bit makes me want to shred the book, not put it on the free book shelf…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to More milestones, and the arrival of an unsolicited diet book

  1. adnohr says:

    I had an acquaintance “bless” me with some bizarre, almost-Scientology type tracks a few years ago. I wasn’t sure what to do with them because I wasn’t going to read them but eventually I threw them out so one else would read them and fall prey to the madness within. I do not regret my decision. :D

  2. Congrats on the milestones! *puke* about the book. I don’t know what I’d do. Probably keep it & dump it. If she asked me about it, then I’d probably tell her I looked at it & it’s not really my thing. If there’s not an editor involved, submitting is always gross.

    • G says:

      Thanks! Yeah, I think maybe I’ll put it in the closet under some old shoes or something, and perhaps if she asks me about it later I can say it wasn’t my thing and ask if she’d like it back. It’s always awkward when it’s family doing silly things.

  3. Gingerzingi says:

    Hahahahaha! Have you ever read “The Total Woman”? A bit before your time. It’s hilarious; I keep it on the SF&F section of my bookshelf.

    When I decide whether to say something to someone or just let it go, I ask myself whether telling them will accomplish anything other than angering or offending them. Not that I’m afraid to anger or offend, but if that’s the only result and isn’t going to cause them to reconsider their viewpoint, then frequently it’s not worth it.

    I’d put the book in the recycle bin. No need to pass on the BS to anyone else.

  4. Gingerzingi says:

    Also, congrats on your astounding lifting milestones.

    • G says:

      Thanks! I’ve never read The Total Woman, but after reading the synopsis it looks like it really belongs in the horrifying satire section. Sadly people are still putting out the same junk!

      There’s a series of questions I want to start asking myself as a guide in these situations: Does this need to be said? Does this need to be said right now? Does this need to be said right now by me? Too often it’s more fruitful to just leave it alone…

  5. Pingback: Anxiety and avoidance | Running While Fat

Leave a Reply

