Maintenance movement

My body is deeply unhappy about something lately. It probably has to do with the stress of the past week, as well as the physical demands I’ve been putting on it without taking proper time to recover. Since Friday morning, my body’s been a mess of knots in my back, stiff necks, and crampy legs. It’s all jacked up (as my massage therapist would say).

I thought about a run outside today, since it’s the warmest and least snowy it’ll be for a few days, but in the end I settled on my favorite Youtube yoga practice. (C’mon, it’s still 40 degrees out there; cut me some slack.) It’s been a while since I’ve done this one and it’s pretty strenuous– it was a tough go. I never thought my arms would settle in to all the planks and down dogs– my wrists and forearms were so unhappy! Eventually, though, it got a little easier. And now that I’m done, I feel somewhat improved, if still a little creaky.

I’ve decided to try this for a few weeks. My left foot is still having mild PF pain so maybe these exercises will help.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Maintenance movement

  1. Gingerzingi says:

    I would definitely try that PF exercise. The first time I did the C25K program, I developed some plantar fasciitis and did the recommended stretching. It did indeed take about a year to get rid of it, which is probably how long it would take if I’d done nothing to treat it. Stretching was pretty useless, in my case.

    • G says:

      It’s such a common and stubborn thing! Mine’s flared on and off ever since I started running, and so far nothing’s helped permanently. I’ll keep you all posted if this helps.

Leave a Reply

