5k training thoughts and goal setting

I’m hoping that I don’t regret doing a little 30-minute recovery run today. I’m not super-duper sore, but my hips and quads are tired and maybe creaky. The 2.45 miles went okay; I took a short walking break in the middle (I need to remember how to breathe, dangit). This month so far, I’ve run about 10 miles total. I need to check my records and see how that compares to last year, when I transitioned back to running without much issue.

I like to follow a pretty regimented 5k training in the 2 months leading up to my annual keeping-myself-honest race (the Hal Higdon intermediate 5k training). It’s produced solid results the past 2 years; each time I’ve shaved 3 minutes off my time. However, I get the feeling that another 3 minutes off is out of the question; that would be a 10:48ish pace and that seems awfully optimistic for me (my 11:46 pace last year was a breakthrough– sub-12:00!)

However, one thing that always helps is the difference between my training terrain and the race course. The race course is 90% flat; my outdoor runs cover some pretty seriously hilly terrain. My training pace suffers (and I get discouraged) by these enormous hills, but they build up strength and endurance, and the race goes better than the training runs because the conditions are much easier.

I guess the moral of the story is that I’m going to have to see where I’m at. Maybe a more modest goal (under 35 minutes?) is the way to go. I have confidence that if I put in the work, I can trust my training come race day.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 5k training thoughts and goal setting

  1. Gingerzingi says:

    That’s funny – when I’ve run consistently (which isn’t often) I always have trouble breathing correctly. I sort of hold my breath or something. You wouldn’t think it would be so difficult :-D

    I’m very impressed with sub-12. I think the best I ever did was sub-16, which is BARELY faster than walking!

Leave a Reply

