Enforced downtime

In case anyone was wondering where all my posts went this week… well, I haven’t done any activity so I haven’t written about it. And the reason I haven’t done any activity is that I have been sick with some kind of death cold sinus laryngitis plague. It’s bad enough that I’ve taken 3 days off from work this week, which is unheard of for me. (Thank goodness I have paid sick leave aplenty… because I never take it…)

Monday evening I was planning out how to spend my ‘off week’ between lifting and running… thinking about a kettlebell class on Tuesday… but no, not in the cards. Doesn’t it seem like I always get sick during these transition weeks?

Today I do feel a little bit better, more perky (better enough to whine at my partner rather than simply lying around catatonic with kleenex stuck in my nose).  I’m going back to work tomorrow (with a boxful of Dayquil) and hopefully I’m not contagious anymore.

On the plus side, being more or less off my feet for a few days means my PF is doing a lot better! My foot feels totally normal. Small blessings.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Enforced downtime

  1. Gingerzingi says:

    If I’m going to get sick, it’s usually immediate after some sort of effort. Like trying to wrap things up at work before Christmas – I remember several times when I spent all of the holiday too sick to even go out. It’s as though my body/brain manage to hold out until the work is over, and then as soon as I relax, BAM comes the sickness. I don’t know if there’s anything to that, but it seems not entirely coincidental. At any rate, I hope you are soon recovered from your death flu.

    Just read your stronglifts starting/ending stats. WOW. I am so jealous. I hope to try that program eventually. Your starting weights are about where I start from, if I haven’t been lifting consistently for a while – light but not NOTHING, so I think you are totally entitled to brag. That’s extraordinary gain.

    • G says:

      Thanks for the well wishes. I kind of hope that this kind of sickness doesn’t mean that I keep borrowing against future spoons (you know the spoons metaphor? it’s not really meant for non-disabled folks, but I still find it useful for talking about ability/energy levels) and it comes back to haunt me after. I mean, I like getting better at the activity I do but it’s also important for me that it be sustainable! On the other hand, work was stupid for a while so that was probably part of it too. I’m finally feeling better today, thank goodness. Maybe I can pull off going for a walk (I really haven’t left the house for a week, except for an ill-advised return to work on Friday?)

Leave a Reply

