Impromptu tempo run

Tempo runs are so great. There’s just something about them that makes me feel like a badass, running as hard as I can manage and hanging on for just a few more minutes… Today was a short 30 minute run, 10-10-10 and 2.5 miles on the treadmill. I haven’t stopped sweating yet, even after a shower. (That is the bad part of hard runs at the work gym– putting my work clothes back on before cooling down all the way.)

My schedule is looking like tomorrow will be a rest day, Thursday might be yoga or kettlebell class (or both, if I stay late) and if I go to kettlebell class I’ll probably be a sore mess on Friday so who knows. I really like the kettlebell class, but I hardly ever get to go (old running plan had Thursday as a rest day, so doing an intense, HIIT workout never really worked).

My partner’s job is ramping up; periodically he has to go into "crunch mode" for a couple months and then we’re like ships passing in the night– we commute separately, get home at different times, and he works weekends. It’s not very good for our relationship, but so it goes. However, it does give me some more flexibility in my schedule; I wind up working more too since he’s not there waiting for me to get off the train at a certain time. I usually joke that I’ll just find a new video game to pass the time while I wait for his project to be done, but honestly I have plenty to keep myself busy on my own. I can wedge a couple new gym classes or activities into my life, too.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Impromptu tempo run

  1. chasingdownhealthy says:

    you are a powerhouse! :) I’ve never done a tempo run, I’m not even sure how to safely go about it. I am off to visit my good friend google on that topic.

    • G says:

      You’ve probably already googled it, but a tempo run is a training run divided up into roughly thirds where you warm up the first third, run close to the anaerobic threshold for the second third, and a comfortable cruise for the last third. It helps to build speed by getting you familiar with running near your limits for longer periods. I like doing them on the treadmill because I can’t slack off on the speed :)

Leave a Reply

