the girl with the strong arm

I’m so happy that today’s a yoga-and-rest day. I didn’t feel as terribly sore rolling out of bed this morning, but I do feel beat down and tired. (Of course, that could have something to do with getting up at 5 after sleeping poorly…)

We had a couple shiny yoga newbies come in for the first part of class today, and it was interesting to see my teacher change up our usual practice so they could get a 20-minute Yoga 101. I feel like I should’ve taken some notes; it’s a handy thing to have on hand when someone is curious– "what is this yoga thing, anyway?" Hopefully they’ll come back.

After they left, we got down to the fun stuff. Since there were only two of us and we both have decent upper-body strength, the teacher said "now I can do the stuff that only strong people can pull off" and we practiced lots of "yoga pushups", chaturanga, upward table and down dog-up dog. (I don’t know if I’d call myself yoga strong, though; I think there’s a big difference between being able to bench press a bear and pulling off crow pose.) My shoulders and arms got a workout, which was a nice change from the usual quad-burning standing poses.

Speaking of sleeping poorly… do you guys ever feel like you never get properly to sleep during the night, like you spend the night feeling like you’re lying awake but obviously you’re not, there are at least some times when you’re sleeping? That has been me lately. My sleep tracker has things looking not great but ok, but I’ve been having so much anxiety around sleep lately! I just lie there and worry about sleep until I fall asleep…

About G

I'm running while fat. And learning other fun ways to honor my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to the girl with the strong arm

  1. lozette says:

    “do you guys ever feel like you never get properly to sleep during the night, like you spend the night feeling like you’re lying awake but obviously you’re not, there are at least some times when you’re sleeping?”

    Yes! I tell my boyfriend I’ve been lying awake & he says “But you were snoring!!”

Leave a Reply

