Yoga and salad, how cliche?

Thing the first: I am channeling Gingerzingi today and made myself a Big Ass Salad for lunch, with kale, carrots, apple, butterkase cheese and kidney beans and goddess dressing. As I was chopping up the carrot and apple, I sang myself a little song:

crunchy bits of stuff
crunchy bits of stuff
in my salad, makes me happy
crunchy bits of stuff

Thing the second: I had a nice yoga time this morning with my favorite youtube practice. It is such a heat-builder! I always wind up dripping (usually during pigeon). I love the practice for lots of reasons, but maybe the best one is that it includes a full time for shavasana. (Why is this unusual among internet videos? It’s not like it costs more to put 5 more minutes on youtube.) Unfortunately, my shavasanas are often blog-writing-planning-time. I need to get better at focusing and quieting my brain.

I’m still not sleeping well, so I’m going to try to find some good sleepy yogas to do before bed (suggestions are welcome). It feels like just another thing to tack on to my nightly routine, but I’d rather spend 20 minutes doing yoga than 3 hours lying awake? I need to find something to help quiet my brain (see above).

Sadly, my sticky mat has bitten the dust after just 2 years of infrequent use. I was bringing my foot back into plank and managed to tear a big hole in it. (I have an amazing talent for destroying things.) I’m tired of using yoga mats that are essentially disposable (and still cost $50) so I ordered one of the fancy Manduka PRO ones. Hopefully it lasts.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Yoga and salad, how cliche?

  1. Gingerzingi says:

    Excellent song. You should be in the music industry.

    I’m bookmarking your yoga video for the unlikely event that I am motivated to try it :-)

    Re sleep: change pillows!

    • G says:

      I really need new pillows! I have 5 of them stacked up and it’s kind of ridiculous. My partner makes fun of my “pillow problem”.

  2. Pingback: HIIT and hemp protein, how cliche | Running While Fat

Leave a Reply

