What’s this HIIT thing all about?

The 7am Thursday yoga class was replaced with a High Intensity Interval Training (HIIT) class. That’s a workout format that’s always intrigued me; a short period of being absolutely miserable and then you’re done. So, I gave it a try. (In hindsight, maybe today was not the best day for it; thanks to my new pillow I had a really terrible night’s sleep, plus the waking up at 5am.)

Anyway, I showed up and there were 5 other people there, mostly men. We grabbed a mat and a step and started jumping around in all kinds of ways. It was divided up into 3-4 stacks of things, like a minute of mountain climbers, then 30 seconds of "surges" (jumping forward and back) and 10 seconds of burpees, and then a short rest and repeat. Or 8 high kicks and then 4 pushups and then 8 tricep dips, alternating for a minute, rest and repeat. The instructor gave plenty of modifications to make it easier where needed– did you know I’d never done a burpee before today? they’re NOT fun– and I somehow managed to get through it all. Some folks were blowing through the hardest level, some folks (ahem me) took a couple breaks, it was cool.

The biggest issue for me was that a lot of the movements were really hip flexor-intensive– high knees, squat jumps, mountain climbers– and after a while they just crapped out. My hip flexors are a weak link. One of the rest intervals was holding boat pose for a minute (you call this a rest interval??) and they just crapped out; I compensated by holding my legs up with my arms. I suspect my iliopsoas are going to be a hot mess tomorrow. (Note: use the standing desk today, even if tired…)

The class was only 30 minutes long and after it finished I was like "oh is that all? I should do more stuff at the gym" but I listened to the little voice that told me that was a bad idea and hit the showers… and as time passed I got more and more tired and moved more and more slowly. Now I’m at my desk and ate breakfast and had some coffee and I’m seriously ready for a nap.

About G

I'm running while fat. And learning other fun ways to honor my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What’s this HIIT thing all about?

  1. lozette says:

    This sounds like the conditioning class I do on Fridays (although I haven’t been for a couple of weeks!), except we warm up with 10 mins of jogging too. I always leave the class feeling exhilarated but as soon as I get to my desk I start flagging, until I need a nap at about 2.30-3pm!

    • G says:

      We did a warmup with some running in place, jumping jacks, etc. Jumping right in cold would be awful!

      I’ll be going to bed early tonight…

  2. chasingdownhealthy says:

    I’ve always wondered what HIIT was all about. Thanks for sharing, it sounds intense but fun!

  3. Tori says:

    Just for fun, HIIT Yoga (though this video doesn’t sound as intense as what you describe; at least, the rest intervals felt like real rests to me):

Leave a Reply

