Homemade HIIT

This morning was an absolute clusterf, but I made it to the gym at my normal time and met up with J (it’s been a while since we’ve been at the gym at the same time!)

I started out with some maintenance lifting, the usual 2 sets of 10 bench/OHP/rows/bicep curls/squats. I’m not doing a very good job maintaining my lifting, since I’ve been wildly inconsistent for the past month. I haven’t had to take any weight off the bars or anything, but it’s not getting any easier either. I keep trying to compare it to my StrongLifts regimen and it’s apples and oranges, both in effort and the amount of time I’m putting into it.

One of the things I’ve been thinking about working on was the box jumps from my HIIT class; my form collapsed after I got tired. So I was like "okay! today I’m going to practice those". And then I remembered that at one point I had downloaded an interval timer app (called IntervalTimer; it has ads on but it seems to be pretty good and customizable.) Then the wheels started turning and I decided to make my own HIIT thing for today.

It was nothing fancy or long. 6 intervals, 1:00 on 1:00 off (so 12 minutes total). The work intervals were 2 rounds of box jumps, walking plank pushups, and burpees (all on cardio step with 3 risers). For the rest intervals I jogged laps around the group exercise room. It was pretty strenuous but felt good, and next time I can add more intervals and more/different movements. (Those pushups aren’t good candidates I think; they’re too hard for me to cram as many as possible into a minute…)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Homemade HIIT

  1. hi says:

    You’ve done way more than me! I need to get my act together as I have been really inconsistent. Keep going (and maybe do some sets for me ;) )

Leave a Reply

