Bake, run, eat BBQ

Happy Fourth of July to my US peeps! It’s been a busy holiday for me so far; this morning I rolled out of bed, made coffee and started baking (this and this; I parbaked the crusts yesterday so I just needed to fill them). We’re headed over to my partner’s parents’ house for some BBQ later so I wanted to make tasty desserts to bring.

The weather had good timing– it rained all morning, but by the time I was done baking it’d cleared up. It’s still gray out there and super sticky, but at least it’s not hot. (All the folks who made pool plans for today are sad.) I headed out for a 40 minute run around the neighborhood, brutal hills and all.  I fit in 3.11 miles (I guess this counts as yet another holiday 5k eh).

hillsomg

I’ve been wanting to take a picture of the hills around here so you all could understand my complaining. I stood in the middle of the road (on a pedestrian island) at the end of one of the biggest ones, but I’m afraid the picture doesn’t do it justice, it’s steeper than it appears here. The terrain slopes down to a large creek at the bottom, and back up to a ridge, about a half-mile from peak to peak. I like running this way because it’s shaded and kind of pretty and not too much traffic, but argh these hills. The rest you get running downhill never matches up with how hard it is going uphill…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bake, run, eat BBQ

  1. The Dude Run Run says:

    I am in the same boat as you are with hills. I hate them and when I stop and take a picture to prove how horrible they are my camera lies to all the people who I show. It does not show the grueling push and climb that I face sometimes. Hope you had a safe and fun 4th.

Leave a Reply

