Back squats and doctors

Tough workout today– I felt like I needed to do a little extra to make up for missing my workout yesterday. I started with lifting. Bench went up to 2×10@110lb, and I did squats at 2×10@125 and deadlifts (eee) at 10@155. I also threw biceps, OHP and rows (65lb) in there too. After all that, I dragged my tired legs to the cardio room and ran for 2 miles on the treadmill (24:30)– that was a rough go. Running after squats and DLs is never fun.

I wanted to get some heavier back squats in because I won’t be able to do them for a while– this evening I’m going in to get inked up with my first tattoo ever. (I’m really excited!) The placement is… right on the centerline of my upper back. Yep, back squats are going to have to take a break until it heals up.

Yesterday’s workout was a washout because I had workers in the house all day– but now the AC is fixed! I also had a doctor’s appointment yesterday afternoon for my ear thing, and it was my first time at a new practice so I wasn’t sure what to expect. Overall, they were very nice and not only did my ear check out fine, but I’ve got an scrip for bloodwork and a future physical (which I’m well overdue for). It turns out the doctor’s father scuba dives, so she had some familiarity with it– that was really helpful.

The nurse took all my vitals and when the doctor came in she looked a little baffled. BMI 34.23, bp 93/60, pulse 70. She didn’t ask any questions about my activity or suggest any weight loss (perhaps that’ll come with the physical). I did notice that she ordered a full thyroid panel on the bloodwork, but it’s been so long that I don’t know if that’s a standard test. Oh well, maybe I’m reading too much into it– my history with medical practitioners isn’t that great but I can give her the benefit of the doubt. Regardless, I’m looking forward to a thorough checkup…

About G

I'm running while fat. And learning other fun ways to honor my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Back squats and doctors

  1. chasingdownhealthy says:

    I don’t know if I’m more excited for you that your AC is fixed or the new tattoo!

Leave a Reply

