It’s all relative…

Today is running away from me– somehow it’s 1pm already. I slept all night in the spare room and got a solid sleep, but I still feel like I could use a coffee this afternoon. Maybe I’ll split the difference with some strong tea. I’ll be here late again tonight, so at least I have many hours of work time left. (These late days stink, but the quiet afternoons after everyone leaves are so productive.)

This morning I hit the gym for 3 miles on the treadmill (it’s nasty hot out again). I had a bit of a revelation today in the middle of the second mile: I was tired and wishing for a walk break but then I flashed back to the discomfort I endured for literally hours during last weekend’s hike and decided my legs really didn’t feel all that bad and I could keep on trucking. In fact, after the halfway point I decided I would turn the treadmill speed up every tenth of a mile. And yeah, I powered through that last 1.5 miles and felt pretty good.

My gym announced another 5k race at the end of October and I’m bummed because probably I’ll be traveling for work that week. And this one is to be done in costumes! C’mon, how can I miss that? Maybe I’ll have to sign up for a Thanksgiving turkey trot instead.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s all relative…

  1. chasingdownhealthy says:

    Good job powering through the run!

Leave a Reply

