“No Fat Divers”

As J and I headed to the gym, I remarked, "It’s really weird… I’ve hardly done anything to break a sweat in 2 weeks." I feel like a lump lately, a lump that hurts a lot. Monday was a disaster, but today I resolved to go back and try again.

It went reasonably well. I spent 20 minutes gently ellipticalling, then stretched as well as I could. I came back to my desk and took a couple ibuprofen, and so far I don’t feel too bad. I suspect that part of the healing process will be slowly rebuilding my strength and what I can handle.

I’m starting to look ahead to my next diving trip and doing some reading about ‘must-see’ spots. One of them is the kelp forests off California. Now, I don’t think that this will be a dive I’ll be doing anytime soon– it’s a dangerous, demanding environment and a dive that requires more skills than I have as a noob diver. But it’s beautiful, and maybe someday I’ll be able to go.

Unfortunately there’s been a rash of dive accidents there recently, and dive shops have blamed them on older and unfit divers. Perhaps seeking to cover their butts, some shops have started to impose limits on who they’ll permit to dive off their boats– one shop said "no one with a BMI over 30". Wait, what?

At the end of the day, each diver is responsible for their own safety, and really, I can’t criticize shops for trying to keep their clients safe too. But putting arbitrary BMI limits on divers seems… not the right way to go about keeping people safe. I could think of several ways that don’t shut people out: how about offering the services of a skilled guide? doing orientation beforehand to refresh skills and learn about the dive conditions? Frankly, I’d pay some extra money to stay safe doing a difficult ‘bucket list’ dive.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “No Fat Divers”

  1. Gingerzingi says:

    For crying out loud. Just when you think BMI couldn’t possibly be used any more inappropriately, irrelevantly, and stupidly…

    I’m catching up on my blog roll. Hope your pain is resolved soon and isn’t a kidney stone!

Leave a Reply

