How many times do I need to say it, PLEASE DON’T HONK AT RUNNERS

Apparently today was “honk at the fat woman in running tights” day. The first half of my 6 mile loop takes me along a busy 6-8 lane divided highway with strip malls and lots of intersections to negotiate. The speed limit is 45, so you might think that drivers are busy paying attention to the road. But they still find time to honk and yell all kinds of interesting things.

Honking your horn at a runner is not encouraging, it is an alarm!  “Beep beep beep” does not mean “Wow, you’re doing a great job! Keep it up!” It means “Look out, there’s a car coming at you!” So whenever someone honks, I have to decide if there is a threat around me– a very real possibility running through busy driveways and roads. So please, please do not honk at runners. I don’t care if you think they’re inspiring or you think their butt’s cute, don’t do it.

A close second to the honkers was the woman waiting at a light to turn out of a parking lot who put her giant SUV entirely over the crosswalk, forcing me to run out into the road, while giving me a big grin. Damn suburbs. Anyway.

I wrapped up the 6 miles in 1:18– and I’m surprised because this was a hilly route and I didn’t think I did that well today but last weekend’s 6 miler was only a minute faster, on flat ground. I guess the moral of the story is that it really doesn’t matter much if I have to walk up the big hills because I make it up on the downhills? Or something.

About G

I'm running while fat. And learning other fun ways to honor my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to How many times do I need to say it, PLEASE DON’T HONK AT RUNNERS

  1. Ugh i get so sick of this. I started shouting at them but then I think it’s just not worth the hassle, so I just try and ignore. It’s so frustrating that we have to deal with this shit in the 21st century. Like, come on. Really?!

  2. Pingback: 2015 Recap | Running While Fat

Leave a Reply

