Lifting for sanity

Back to the office after the long weekend. It was hard to get myself out the door this morning, and I didn’t make it to the station in time to catch my usual train. Yesterday I took my car to the shop for a number of major repairs (let’s just say that four figure repair bills are putting a big dent in my holiday spirit) and my car was making some odd smells and smoke from the hood on the way to the station. I’m hoping it’s just that one of the mechanics was sloppy and spilled some oil/fluid that’s getting hot and smoking off. But it wasn’t a great morning.

Plans are in flux, too, which always makes me antsy. My partner missed a deadline for his fancy holiday party, so I’m waiting for him to call the hotel, find alternate accommodations, or decide not to go. He keeps putting it off. I’m leaving the tags on my dress…

But my workout was good. If nothing else, I can count on that! I’m feeling that odd transitional season where I don’t want to stop running but I’m ready to start lifting heavy again. Distance running and lifting don’t mix well for me! Today I started off with lifting (bench, squats, OHP, rows, DL and farmer’s walk because my grip has disappeared). Then I ran a fast mile on the treadmill (11:20, fast for me). Tomorrow I’ll run more I think, as long as my legs aren’t too sore. It’s been a while since squats so I’m not sure how they’re going to react.

The music in the gym this morning awful. You know how last week I was complaining about The Smiths (who I love, but it ain’t uplifting)? Today it started off with some depressing Counting Crows song, then REM’s Everybody Hurts, and when the next song that came on was some slow Dave Matthews ballad it was time to go request a change. (Everyone has a tipping point; mine is Dave Matthews.) The gym staffer put on the ‘rock’ station, which started off with Guns and Roses– ok! better! Then some System of a Down– now we’re talking! But halfway through the song she turned it off and flipped it to Boston. Okaaaay… And by the time I was done stretching the music was back to slow depressing stuff. Everybody Hurts was on while I was grinding through a bench set and it was the polar opposite of motivating…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lifting for sanity

  1. Gingerzingi says:

    OMG that is the worst soundtrack ever!

    I don’t care how regressive it is, when I lift I play stuff like Lynyrd Skynyrd and Motorhead. Occasionally I’m in the mood for classic jazz, which isn’t exactly PUMPED UP, but at least it’s not depressing!

    • G says:

      Yeah, you need something with a little backbone in it to move your workout along, right? I like metal, hip hop, classic rock, dancey stuff… Not downtempo flaccid pop! (They haven’t said yes to my request of 100% Nicki Minaj at the gym yet.)

Leave a Reply

