Relax and get it done

After taking 3 days off I’m feeling kind of unmotivated but also feeling like I need to be playing catch-up somehow. That’s a bad idea– that feeling of ‘need to do moooore’ leads to dissatisfaction with what I do do.

So I stuck to a simple lifting session today, adding a little weight where it was ready. I followed it up with some jumping rope, foam rolling and stretching.
2×10 Bench, 100lb
2×10 OHP, 50lb
2×10 Bent-over rows, 65lb
10, 5, 5 Squats, 125lb
2×5 Deadlift, 155lb

Squats were killing me today. I mean, they always suck– they’re definitely my least-favorite lift right now– but it felt like I was grinding out every rep. I talked myself into not taking weight off the bar by splitting the second set into 2 5’s. I’m not sure how I got my squat to 175lb last year! 125lb is a mess, though I’m pretty sure it’s a mental game. (For what it’s worth, I had to psych myself up for every rep at 175 too.)

Last night I was getting ready for bed and noticed an unpleasant and funky yet somehow familiar smell. After sniffing around some, I realized that it was my sports bras, which were hanging up to dry after being washed that day. Why are sports bras so hard to get clean?? I wash the rest of my workout clothes in warm water with detergent and Oxyclean and they usually come out reasonably fresh but the sports bras have to be washed in cold water with plain detergent and it often fails to do the trick. It seems like any treatment that might get the stank out would harm the elastic and fabric, and these things are $50 each and I have to keep at least 5 in a rotation and they wear out quickly enough as it is and I guess I’ll just have to be a little stinky rather than throwing money out the window…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Relax and get it done

  1. Bras are a horrible pain!

  2. stephieann8 says:

    I needed to read this. I’ve been feeling icky for the past week and need to get myself back to the gym. Good for you!

  3. Gingerzingi says:

    I was going to suggest vinegar, but I can’t swear that wouldn’t erode the elastic.

    Hey, how did your fancy party go? How was the dress?

    • G says:

      I’ve thought about vinegar too, or washing them on their own with stronger stuff (right now they go in with my dark clothes, which also get a cold/plain wash). Maybe I’ll give it a try…

      Fancy party was fun! It’s always a good time seeing a bunch of nerds getting dressed to the nines and trying to be all classy. The dress worked out great, I got plenty of compliments, and my heels were comfy until 11pm, at which point they were running out of champagne and we were turning into pumpkins so we called it a night :)

Leave a Reply

