Making some trade-offs

Lifting heavy and distance running don’t mix very well for me. I applaud the folks who can bust out big squats and then run 5 miles the next day, but I am not one of those people.

Yes, I’m grumpy because my hip flexors and glutes and hamstrings and calves are really sore and I wanted to get a 4 mile run in and it just didn’t happen. I gritted my teeth through 2 slow and painful miles and finally jumped over to the elliptical for another 15 minutes and called it a day. It’s not what I had planned, but it’s something I guess.

I’m also grumpy because I know that I won’t keep my running conditioning if I keep having DOMS from lifting and crapping out on runs. I worked hard to get to the point I’m at! Argh! But I like lifting too, and I like feeling strong. Why can’t I do both? I’m shaking my fist at the sky.

I guess the lesson here is that I can either specialize and kick some butt or be a generalist and wibble my way through things. Story of my life.

About G

I'm running while fat. And learning other fun ways to honor my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Making some trade-offs

  1. janerunswild says:

    It’s always tough to life and run distance in the same day. I usually lift after my run, otherwise it’s impossible. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

