Snow removal workout

I’ve been stuck in the house since Friday and going a little stir-crazy (okay, a lot stir-crazy) so I was glad to get outside, even if it was to take care of this:

snowcar

That’s my damn workout for today: clearing 30 inches of wet snow off my car. (There was no place nearby to put the snow, so I had to walk every shovel a long ways…) It took 2 hours.

It’s funny; I’m from the Midwest, where we know about snow. Clearing off cars might as well be the state sport. Maybe I’m out of practice, or maybe 30″ is still a big deal. Anyway, I came in drenched, and I expect to be quite sore tomorrow.

Maybe tomorrow I can go for a walk around the neighborhood, scout the sidewalks, and enjoy the snow rather than cussing it out.

Hope everyone out there is staying warm and safe! Remember, lift with your legs…

About G

I'm running while fat. And learning other fun ways to honor my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Snow removal workout

  1. Gingerzingi says:

    Wow, you got a lot more snow than we did. Ours was still hard to remove – alternating layers of ice and snow, so a lot of breaking through with the edge of the shovel.

    I’m from the west/midwest too, and I think the snows were drier there, more powdery. At least, most of the time. That’s easier to shovel than this heavy, wet stuff.

    • G says:

      I think getting ice off is worse! It’s much trickier to get ice off a car, especially.

      We had long, cold winters in the midwest and it’d snow often and it would all stick but it would be like 2 inches, 4 inches at a time, that would just pile up and you’d shovel it as it happened. Not 2+ foot dumps of snow like we get on the east coast!

  2. stephieann8 says:

    We got the car covering amount as well. I was slip sliding all over the place trying to walk to the subway.

  3. Lady Dickson says:

    Snow removal is such a solid workout. That is an unreal amount of snow covering your car. And that says a lot coming from a Canadian ;)

Leave a Reply

