First run of the training cycle

This year’s spring 5k training starts today! I forgot to decide on/look up a format, and I didn’t run yesterday (gave the cold one more day to hit the road) so today’s run was a treadmill combo 3 mile/tempo. I ran the first mile at warm-up pace, the second mile fast, and the third cruise. I finished the 3 miles in just under 35 minutes, and busted my butt to hang onto a 11:00 pace through mile 2. (My last 5k, a PR, was ~11:30.) And as a bonus, the heat from the run seems to have dislodged most of the gunk from my sinuses and I can breathe again. For now, anyway.

A couple of old injuries are nagging at me though. My back strain from like 6 months ago is flaring up again– really? Really?? I have no idea why. I guess it’s time to pull out the heating pad again. And yesterday I noticed that, although my left big toenail is mostly grown out and healed up from its abuse on the hiking trip, the right one isn’t growing. I gave it an experimental pull and yep, it’s not really attached to the nailbed anymore. I figured if it hadn’t fallen off by 3 months out it wouldn’t, but I guess that’s not true. Now I don’t know what to do about it? I guess I’ll just wait for it to go. Sorry, that all is kind of gross…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

