Tempo runs and poofy white dresses

Today’s workout was one of the tougher ones on my training schedule: a 40 minute tempo run. I toughed it out and had a solid run, covering 3.37 miles. The fast part wasn’t as fast as I had envisioned and it didn’t help that I spent 20 minutes in the hard work part, but I didn’t have to slow down below my fast-ish pace (and there were bursts where I went faster) so I was satisfied with that.

This Saturday, my friend is taking me wedding dress shopping. (This friend would be my Matron of Honor if we were having a wedding party, but we’re not; I feel a little bit bad because she’s doing some of the MoH work anyway, but I hope it’s because she thinks it’s fun!) She’s picked out some places and set up appointments and I am absolutely uninformed and overwhelmed so I’m just along for the ride. She’s been to this rodeo already, having gotten married 2 years ago.

I have no idea what to expect going in. Some of these places are fancy! I have no intention of spending $1500+ on a dress that I’ll wear once. And I don’t know if they’ll have much in my size? My friend is about the same size so she’s been there, too. I just worry about it, especially since I have a simpler dress in mind. I guess I can go and have fun and see how it goes.

About G

I'm running while fat. And learning other fun ways to honor my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tempo runs and poofy white dresses

  1. Gingerzingi says:

    Back in the day, I bought my wedding dress at a department store. It wasn’t specifically for a wedding, but it was pretty and white and lacy. To the best of my recollection it was about $70 (34 years ago). So I would say, Don’t rule out inexpensive options.

    However, I have already picked out your dress:

    or

  2. Pingback: 2016 in review | Running While Fat

Leave a Reply

