Sleep hygiene

Since I love them so much, I decided today ought to be another 40 minute tempo workout. And, as usual, it kicked my butt. I crammed 3.47 miles into the 40 minutes, 15 minute warmup, 15 minute work, 10 minute cruise. For some ridiculous reason I thought it would be a good idea to aim for about 10:30 in the work interval; that didn’t last. I barely hung on to 11:00.

I haven’t been sleeping well lately. I thought it might have to do with playing video games before bedtime, so last night I did all the fancy sleep hygiene stuff– good workout in the late morning, no caffeine after noon, no screens for 2 hours before bed, a tiny snack at bedtime. (What I didn’t pull off was no stress in the evening– we designed and ordered the invitations so I was anxious and worried about that, even after it was done! And the officiant and DJ selections are still looming.)

Anyway, it didn’t work; I still couldn’t sleep. My partner wasn’t even being loud, so it wasn’t his fault, either. At midnight I went to the spare room so I wouldn’t keep him up tossing and turning. Eventually I did fall asleep.

I just want to not be tired all the time, and I want to give my body a chance to recover from all the work it’s doing.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sleep hygiene

  1. Gingerzingi says:

    I’ve found melatonin supplements to be extremely helpful. It’s not an absolute guarantee, but generally I sleep better with them.

  2. Just curious, what video games are you playing? I’m finally getting through Skyward Sword, I’m late to that one!

    • G says:

      I’m working my way through Fallout 4 now– these games are terrible for me though, I’m a completionist so I wind up getting sucked into all the companion and side quests. I’m level 52 and barely scratched the main quest. :-/

  3. Pingback: 2016 in review | Running While Fat

Leave a Reply

