Spotty squats

Today’s Friday the 13th curse is… leaky yogurt. My container (topped with cilantro-and-vinegar chili sauce, natch) leaked all over my gym bag… hopefully I don’t smell too much like salad. My coworker had a leaky carton, too. I’ll be happy if that’s the worst thing that happens all day. (I’m just joking– I’m not really superstitious.)

Squats are the bane of my existence right now. I’m making great progress with bench, deadlift is going okay… but not so much squats.I started with bench, had 4 nice sets of 5 at 120lb and another 4 at 125 (got a spot, thankfully).

Then I headed to the squat rack, loaded it up with 165lb, and made one rep that felt really weird. Not painful, just weird and my body said "let’s not do that again". So I took off 10lb, tried again, still not right… another 10lb off, did 4, and decided today was not a good day for squats. (Maybe my small leg muscles are still wiped out from the heavy singles on Wednesday?) Instead I put 200lb on the leg press and did some sets. Shitty leg day.

The 5x205lb deadlifts went all right. My hands are chewed up, but my grip feels fine on these heavier DLs so that’s a win. It was a little hard to tell if I was getting my shoulders all the way back; I could probably use some upper back accessory work.

Speaking of accessory work, I added in biceps and back extensions. Then I went straight to the locker room without stretching, because I forgot.

I’ve really dialed back a lot of my other activity, but recovery has still been tough. Even sleeping in the spare room, and sleeping like a rock for almost 8 hours, I still feel like I could use a few more hours every morning. Maybe I can sleep in this weekend.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spotty squats

  1. Gingerzingi says:

    I often find I need an extra hour of sleep when I’m doing an intense program.

    Sorry about the yogurt. Also it sounds delicious :-)

Leave a Reply

