A bit of grit

Sometimes, the hour in the gym is the most structured and pleasant time of my day. The rest of the time I’m subject to the whims of people who absolutely do not have their shit together and expect me to compensate for it. At least when I’m staring down a barbell it’s just up to me if I’m going to lift it.

Push day today– this workout felt like I was building the fat lady version of Michelle Obama arms. I lifted more weight than I’d expected and worked extra hard (triceps failure! how often do I get that!)

Bench press – 4x5x125lb This one felt good today!
Overhead press – 4x5x75lb Also good! OHP is fun because it engages all the way to the feet.
Incline bench press – 3x5x85lb Agh, my shoulders!
Lateral raise – 3x10x30 On the circuit machine today, much better
Rope pushdown – 3x10x80
Skullcrushers – 3x12x(35,45,45lb) The 3rd set I crashed out after 9 reps. This is ok :)
Dumbbell shrugs – 3x10x(20lbx2) Nice upper back pull with these. Why are they in the push workout?

The prize for Tough Lift of the Day definitely goes to OHP. I’ve added 10lb to it recently and getting through 5 reps is hard but it’s such a satisfying lift. Even though it’s technically an arms, shoulder and upper back exercise, executing it means staying strong through the entire back body and core. I love those magical moments when everything is engaged and focused.

About G

I'm running while fat. And learning other fun ways to honor my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A bit of grit

  1. Gingerzingi says:

    Dumbbell shrugs in push? Apparently I’ve been doing them wrong all this time.

    I think sometimes when people write a program, and they try to hit all the push-pull-twist-bend movements, they run out of options and start getting creative :-)

    I’m going to start lifting again after I finish my much-hated running program. Really looking forward.

    • G says:

      Yeah! I think they’re like “we need at least 30 exercises in here, what else can we throw in”. Just to make it extra fun.

      It’s funny, I’ve been lifting and I’m wishing to run. We should just trade brains I guess!

Leave a Reply

