Stealing promises

Pull workout. Today’s music: Nicki Minaj and Outkast. (I like to do Anaconda on squats day, but it worked for today too :) I tried to put more weight on stuff but maybe it wasn’t quite ready yet, and I had to bump some back down.

The 10-minute run warmup went much better than I thought it would, the day after leg day. I do miss running…

Barbell rows – 3x5x90lb, 5x95lb
Deadlift – 2x5x205lb
Bicep curls – 3x10x20lb, each side
Bentover row – 3x10x30lb, each side
Lat pulldowns – 3x10x35
Seated row – 10x(80,60,60) (oops, can’t read the machine today)
Face pull – (10,5)x90, (5,10)x80

Wedding crap is coming along… the next big thing is writing the vows. I’ve accepted that the best way to go is to read everyone else’s and steal the bits I like. I’m not creative enough to come up with something out of whole cloth, and there are lots of great examples to follow out there.

About G

I'm running while fat. And learning other fun ways to honor my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Stealing promises

  1. Gingerzingi says:

    IMO, writing your own vows is overrated. I say that not to be a bridezilla about how one “should” do anything, but in the sense of taking pressure off. Millions of people have been successfully and happily married using standard traditional language, and it worked out fine. So my feeling about it has always been, If you feel moved to write your own, by all means do so, but don’t feel like it’s required.

    But then my entire approach to my wedding was: anything that’s difficult is out the window :-) Just call me Lazy Bride.

    • G says:

      No, I totally get it and we are 100% not writing our own vows from whole cloth. Other people have said these things before in much better ways than my brain could come up with, so I will happily steal their ideas.

      I’m not a big fan of the traditional vows because personally, I find the “traditional” marriage ceremony is full of patriarchy and gross stuff, the father of the bride “gives” her to the groom, she promises to “honor and obey”, and “I pronounce you man and wife”– he stays the same, she’s now his property. Not for me.

      On the other hand, I recognize that marriage is an old, old institution and it’s nice to have that connection with generations back– it worked out well for many of them, and through the connection we hope for the best too.

      So I guess the challenge is coming up with vows that are solid and meaningful– because they really are vows and not something to be taken lightly,

      Aaand that’s my novel on marriage vows.

Leave a Reply

